The land along Four Mile Run in this area belonged to George Washington and was known as Washington Forest. Later it became part of the Arlington Estate.
The “Columbian Turnpike” was built through here in 1808 to link the Long Bridge at Washington with the Little River Turnpike to the west.
In 1836 George Washington Parke Custis built a grist mill where the turnpike crossed Four Mile Run. It was destroyed during the Civil War, it being the supposed property of Robert E. Lee.
The Mill was rebuilt in 1880, continued in operation until 1906 and was destroyed by fire in 1920.
In 2011, Arlington County, Virginia began construction of a new community center to replace a center just demolished on the site.
The Arlington Mill Community Center stands as a community beacon on the west end of The Pike, and is host to half of our Summer Movie Nights every year.
Arlington Mill, 1863
Arlington Mill Today
Arlington Mill Destroyed by Fire, 1920
Arlington Mill Community Center, 2017